BriSCA F1 British Championship

The British Drivers Championship - widely regarded as second in stature only to the World Championship is contested in a single meeting, run by the BSCDA. The meeting is traditionally open to the top sixty drivers in the BSCDA grading list. Drivers race in a number of qualifying heats (typically 3 from 5 heats in recent years - 2013 3 from 4 heats) scoring points which are used to determine the grid for the Championship Race. Heats are raced in normal graded order, whilst the Championship Race runs in closed grid points order, with the top scorer in pole position.

The Championship Race format has produced a number of epic battles over the years, making 'The British' a firm favourite with race fans.

Year Track Champion Second Third
1956 West Ham Wilf Davies Allen Briggs Jumbo Allen
1957 West Ham Harry Foot Gerry Weir Ted Pankhurst
1958 West Ham Johnny Brise Trevor Frost Ted Pankhurst
1959 West Ham Doug Wardropper Trevor Frost George Foulger
1960 West Ham Doug Harvey Johnny Brise Aubrey Leighton
1961 Coventry Don Evans Chick Woodroffe Terry Coell
1962 West Ham Alan Wardropper Fred Mitchell Vic Ferriday
1963 Belle Vue Fred Ball Doug Wardropper Ron Rogers
1964 Harringay Ted Pankhurst Alan Wardropper Ellis Ford
1965 Coventry Ellis Ford Alan Wardropper Eddie Asling
1966 Harringay Ray Pearce Jock Lloyd Ted Pankhurst
1967 Belle Vue Willie Harrison Peter Farrington Ron Rogers
1968 Harringay Jim Esau Dennis Driscoll Johnny Piper
1969 Coventry Stuart Smith Howard Davies Willie Harrison
1970 Belle Vue Doug Cronshaw Willie Harrison Stuart Smith
1971 Not staged
1972 Long Eaton Gerald Taylor Willie Harrison Jim Esau
1973 Nelson Mike Close Gordon Smith Stuart Smith
1974 Northampton Pat Driscoll Tony Leicester Allen Barker
1975 Long Eaton Willie Harrison Frankie Wainman Snr Brian Powles
1976 Belle Vue Doug Cronshaw Bert Finnikin Stuart Smith
1977 Not staged
1978 Bradford Dave Mellor Dave Hodgson Stuart Smith
1979 Belle Vue Mike Close Len Wolfenden Bert Finnikin
1980 Hartlepool Glyn Pursey Mike Close Willie Harrison
1981 Long Eaton Stuart Smith John Lund Nigel Whorton
1982 Hartlepool Len Wolfenden Bert Finnikin Andy Stott
1983 Rochdale Len Wolfenden Stuart Smith Bert Finnikin
1984 Belle Vue Stuart Smith Mike Close Bert Finnikin
1985 Northampton Bert Finnikin Stuart Smith Mike Close
1986 Long Eaton Nigel Whorton John Lund Frankie Wainman Snr
1987 Skegness John Lund Nigel Whorton Bert Finnikin
1988 Bradford Dave Berresford Willie Harrison Frankie Wainman Snr
1989 Scunthorpe John Lund Peter Falding Ray Tyldesley
1990 Hednesford John Lund Paul Harrison Frankie Wainman Snr
1991 Buxton Paul Harrison Ray Tyldesley Nigel Whorton
1992 Coventry Frankie Wainman Jnr Andy Hodgson Bert Finnikin
1993 Long Eaton Paul Harrison Bert Finnikin Ian Platts
1994 Skegness Phil Smith Frankie Wainman Jnr Peter Falding
1995 Coventry John Lund Dave Berresford Andy Smith
1996 Coventry Peter Falding Paul Harrison Mark Gilbank
1997 Buxton John Lund Gareth Bott Ray Witts
1998 Coventry John Lund Frankie Wainman Jnr Murray Harrison
1999 Coventry Frankie Wainman Jnr Andy Smith Murray Harrison
2000 Kings Lynn Andy Smith Paul Harrison John Lund
2001 Coventry Frankie Wainman Jnr Murray Harrison Mark Webster
2002 Coventry Andy Smith Rob Speak Frankie Wainman Jnr
2003 Belle Vue Frankie Wainman Jnr John Lund Mal Brown
2004 Sheffield Frankie Wainman Jnr Mark Gilbank Mick Harris
2005 Sheffield Frankie Wainman Jnr Mark Gilbank Stuart Smith Jnr
2006 Ipswich Frankie Wainman Jnr Stuart Smith Jnr Paul Harrison
2007 Skegness Andy Smith Frankie Wainman Jnr Daniel Johnson
2008 Coventry Stuart Smith Jnr Frankie Wainman Jnr John Lund
2009 Belle Vue Andy Smith Lee Robinson John Lund
2010 Skegness Paul Hines Andrew Smith Lee Robinson
2011 King's Lynn Paul Harrison Dan Johnson Frankie Wainman Jnr
2012 Coventry Craig Finnikin Mick Sworder Frankie Wainman Jnr
2013 Buxton Lee Fairhurst Rob Speak Lee Robinson
2014 Birmingham Paul Harrison Matt Newson Paul Ford
2015 Northampton Lee Fairhurst Tom Harris Daniel Johnson
2016 Skegness Frankie Wainman Jnr Danny Wainman Matt Newson
2017 Sheffield Frankie Wainman Jnr Stuart Smith Jnr Matt Newson
2018 Belle View Stuart Smith Jnr Mark Gilbank Daniel Johnson
2019 Hednesford Tom Harris Frankie Wainman Jnr Mat Newson