BriSCA F1 World Championship

The World Championship is the most coveted of all championships - not only is a massive prize fund up for grabs, but the desirable gold roof is awarded to the victor.

The 2009 World Championship had 15 meetings designated as World Championship Qualifier meetings for UK entrants: four of them were held at the end of the 2008 season and the others were held in the first half od the 2008 season.

Points scored at the World Championship Qualification meetings are totalled up to produce two Semi Final grids (with drivers with the highest number of points at the front). The first 10 finishers from each Semi Final qualify for the sport's flagship race, the World Final - in 2009 held on shale in Kings Lynn.

BSCDA favourite Andy Smith won the 2009 World Final race, sucessfully defending his title from the previous year, bringing his total to four World Championships - three out of four since 2006.

Roll Of Honour

Year Track Champion Second Third
1955 Harringay Mac McDonnell Joe Farley Percy Betts
1955 Belle Vue Jerzy Wojtowicz Vic Ferriday Steve Storm
1956 Belle Vue Johnny Brise Jimmy Gee Vic Ferriday
1957 Belle Vue Aubrey Leighton Doug Wardropper Harry Foot
1958 Belle Vue Bob Reeve Graham Warner Aubrey Leighton
1959 Belle Vue Johnny Brise Fred Mitchell Doug Wardropper
1960 Coventry Johnny Brise Fred Mitchell Doug Wardropper
1961 West Ham Jock Lloyd Johnny King Ted Pankhurst
1962 Belle Vue Fred Mitchell Ken Freeman Alan Wardropper
1963 Harringay Doug Wardropper Ted Pankhurst Alan Wardropper
1964 Coventry Trevor Frost Don Evans Nev Hughes
1965 West Ham Ellis Ford Alan Wardropper Ron Rogers
1966 Belle Vue Fred Mitchell Ron Rogers Charlie Finnikin
1967 Harringay George Ansell Johnny Pratt Ron Rogers
1968 Coventry Tony Neal Ron Rogers Charlie Finnikin
1969 Belle Vue Stuart Smith Jim Esau Gerry Weir
1970 Harringay Jim Esau Stuart Smith Pete Webb
1971 Coventry Doug Cronshaw Ian Durham George Ansell
1972 Belle Vue Stuart Smith Mick Noden Doug Cronshaw
1973 Harringay Dave Chisholm Stuart Smith Doug Cronshaw
1974 Coventry Dave Chisholm Stuart Smith Mick Noden
1975 Belle Vue Dave Chisholm Stuart Smith Doug Cronshaw
1976 White City Stuart Bamforth Gordon Smith Frankie Wainman Snr
1977 Coventry Mike Close Frankie Wainman Snr Willie Harrison
1978 Belle Vue Dave Mellor John Hillam Glyn Pursey
1979 White City Frankie Wainman Snr Mick Noden Bert Finnikin
1980 Coventry Stuart Smith Dave Mellor John Lund
1981 Bradford LenWolfenden Brian Powles Mike Close
1982 Belle Vue Willie Harrison Mike Close Dave Berresford
1983 Coventry Stuart Smith Dan Clarke Willie Harrison
1984 Belle Vue Stuart Smith Len Wolfenden Dave Mellor
1985 Bradford Stuart Smith Len Wolfenden Bert Finnikin
1986 Coventry Peter Falding Dave Mellor Stuart Smith
1987 Belle Vue John Lund Frankie Wainman Snr Dave Berresford
1988 Hednesford John Lund John Toulson Chris Elwell
1989 Coventry Ray Tyldesley Peter Falding Des Chandler
1990 Bradford Bert Finnikin Dave Berresford John Lund
1991 Hednesford John Lund Bert Finnikin Peter Falding
1992 Bradford John Lund Bobby Burns Peter Falding
1993 Coventry Peter Falding Paul Harrison Kev Smith
1994 Bradford Andy Smith Kev Smith Dave Berresford
1995 Hednesford Keith Chambers Des Chandler Murray Harrison
1996 Coventry John Lund Paul Harrison Frankie Wainman Jnr
1997 Bradford John Lund Frankie Wainman Jnr Peter Falding
1998 Coventry Frankie Wainman Jnr Rob Pearce Paul Harrison
1999 Coventry Murray Harrison Frankie Wainman Snr John Lund
2000 Coventry John Lund Andy Smith Murray Harrison
2001 Hednesford Rob Speak Frankie Wainman Jnr Andy Smith
2002 Coventry John Lund Rob Speak Dave Johnson
2003 Coventry Peter Falding Murray Harrison Stephen Cayzer
2004 Coventry Peter Falding Ed Neachell Stephen Cayzer
2005 Northampton Frankie Wainman Jnr Dave Schaap Andy Smith
2006 Coventry Andy Smith Frankie Wainman Jnr Stuart Smith Jnr
2007 King's Lynn Stuart Smith Jnr Frankie Wainman Jnr Andy Smith
2008 Ipswich Andy Smith Paul Harrison Ron Kroonder
2009 King's Lynn Andy Smith Frankie Wainman Jnr Paul Harrison
2010 Coventry Andy Smith Frankie Wainman Jnr Craig Finnikin
2011 Northampton Paul Harrison Dan Johnson Andy Smith

This page was printed from the website